Happy Belated Auntie’s Day!

Yes, there is a special day to celebrate those of us who are Aunts or  Godparents! It’s today (or yesterday- cause I’m late completing this blog…just know I started it the 23rd)  July 24!! I’ve been following a blog called Savvy Auntie by Melanie Notkin, Melanie has created a community where those of us who are aunting can get ideas for fun, practical advice and share about the children we love so much.  She has a book out also and it is called (you guessed it) Savvy Auntie!!!  What I like best about following Melanie and other Aunts is most of us don’t have children of our own, so we share that same commonality that I don’t always find in life.  Did you know that nearly 46 percent of American women through age 44 are childless, whether by choice or by circumstance? Some will go on to have children of their own, and others will pour all of their maternal energy into the children of friends and other family members. There is something special about being just an Aunt and not a parent to your own children.  I find that I think of my nephews and niece as if they were my own!!!  I believe this is because I don’t have any of my own so I make time to think of them, visit them and let them know how much I adore them!  So here I go with my story on how I became an Aunt!

from left to right, Tony (Anthony) 7 and Jesse Jr 10

I have been taking care of and loving other people’s kids for as long as I can remember….but around 2001 my sister met a man who had two amazing little boys. I was so thrilled when I heard that her boyfriend Jesse, had children already….. She was living in Las Vegas (where she still resides) and I got the honors of meeting them and being named Aunt Tami:) It was music to my ears….becoming an Auntie to Jesse Jr. and Tony was and IS so fun!!   They were about 7 and 4 years old when I first met them… and then she married their father on June 6, 2006.

my sister Jeni aka Roxie and Jesse Sr. pre altar

In 2007 my sister came to Idaho to go on a family camping trip to Oregon… she said she was going to try to get pregnant after this trip!!!!  11 months later this little baby man Gibson Felix changed our lives on 8-12-08.

Oh look how his big brother’s adore him!!  I got to meet him for the first time when he was 3 weeks old…

momma and baby boy

He will be 3 next month….

Jesse 11, Tony 8, Gibson 1-3 months (ages approx.)

young Gibson with Mommy and Daddy....

snow day in Vegas

snow day in Vegas

I'm 8 mnths old and I WALK!

I'm ONE!

Jesse off to 9th grade...

Tony well done!!!

SUMMER TIME!! Boys+ brothers= best friends!

That was so hard to just pick a few photos from their lives…. but I hope you enjoy!!  Next I will tell you about how I became an Aunt to lil Aubrey Anula McAfee…..

born may 31, 2011

brand new

momma and baby:)

momma and baby:)

Just like with Gibson I continued a tradition (for me being an Aunt) I went back to my place of growing up in Paradise, California….. to visit my brother and his lady Alexis and to meet Aubrey at the fresh age of 3 weeks!  I stayed 12 days and we had so much fun! I have lots of pics, I will pick my top two!

#1

#2

#3 Dad and baby zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

OOooooo sorry I said two but had to go with the third!!!  So precious!!!  It’s really amazing to watch your siblings be such great parents!!!  I look forward to watching these families grow….. I’m excited for what God has in store for each of these children…and the children to come after them….:)

I was thinking of including all the children from my life….but that would cause this blog to be more than just one day late!! Happy Belated Auntie’s Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “Happy Belated Auntie’s Day!

Leave a Reply

